I wanted to take a moment to remind you that today is Memorial Day.  It’s not just a holiday that allows us to take a day off from school or work.  It commemorates U.S. soldiers who died while in military service.  Having recently watched the Kevin Bacon movie called ‘Taking Chance’, I have a deeper appreciation for those who made the ultimate sacrifice in service of my country.  I thank them for defending our Nation’s freedom and its values.

We attended the Indianapolis 500 race yesterday and the opening ceremonies are mostly spent honoring Memorial Day and our troops and fallen heroes.  I’m glad we were able to reflect and be thankful and remember that the only reason we are able to be there every year and enjoy the biggest spectacle in racing is because our soldiers fight for our freedom to do so.

