z8

In remembrance of those we lost eight years ago, where were you when it happened?  Mr. Jayfan and I were getting ready to leave for work that morning.  I was watching Good Morning America when the hosts came back during a commercial break and said that a plane had crashed into one of the twin towers.  They showed the devastation of that first crash.  I called my husband and we watched for a while…stunned and confused, wondering how that could happen?  Then we left for work.  As we were on the freeway, listening to GMA on the radio, they announced that another plane had crashed into the other tower.  I can’t express the horror and disbelief we felt then.  After I reached work, I watched the towers crumble and the chaos on tv and learned about the other two crashes–into the Pentagon and in the fields of Pennsylvania.  Then we discovered it was an act of terrorism.  How could anybody be so cruel? 

I will never forget that day for the rest of my life.  On this eighth anniversary, let’s pause to remember the victims, grieve with the families and friends who lost loved ones and honor the service and sacrifice of the emergency responders.

